How to Start Learning Astrology

So, you are thinking how cool astrology is and you are wondering how you can get good at it… Welcome aboard, my friend! This is the best place for you to learn it.

Before I get into the actual stuff, I have to warn you!

Astrology can be so fascinating that it can turn into your life time passion. By diving deep into it you are risking to become a highly conscious person who understands himself and who knows his life path.

You’ve been warned! Now let’s move ahead!


Einstein has said:  

“Everything should be made as simple as possible, but not simpler.”

And this is the moto of my work as a teacher.

You should know that astrology is very deep and can reveal sooooo many things about your psychology, relationships, career, health, money, education, life mission, etc.

That my friend takes time and effort and may not be a simple task. But if you have enough motivation and genuine desire to learn and grow, it gets simpler.

So, where do you start from?

In this article I will introduce you to the basic terminology, which is a great start if you want to become a professional astrologer or just use it for fun.

There is a famous metaphor which compares astrology to a play and I find it really helpful:

The actors are the planets, the signs are their roles, the aspects show how the actors (planets) communicate with each other and the houses are the stage.


Now let’s explore the 4 main astrology components – signs, planets, aspects and houses.


Zodiac signs

The 12 zodiac signs are the most popular astrology indications.

Almost everyone knows their own sign and by that, I mean the sign position of their Sun.

What many people don’t know is that there are 9 other planets and each of them has a sign position, as well. So, that means we are affected by a few/many zodiac signs at the same time.

The main thing you need to remember about the signs is that they bring concrete qualities.

Here are some examples:

Aries – impulsive, brave, courageous

Taurus – patient, practical, stable

Gemini – skillful, curios, intellectual

Cancer – emotional, tender, sensitive

Leo – confident, leader, self-focused

Virgo – organized, detail oriented, rational

Libra – diplomatic, kind, balance oriented

Scorpio – deep, concentrated, magnetic

Sagittarius – positive, adventurous, goal oriented

Capricorn – disciplined, consistent, hard working

Aquarius – original, extraordinary, future oriented

Pisces – compassionate, romantic, inspirational



The next element we need to explore are the 10 planets. Each of them represents certain part of our personality and life.

The Sun – our core identity and ego.

The Moon – behavior, expression and family

Venus – emotional life

Mars – personal will

Jupiter – goals and beliefs

Saturn – structure and discipline

Uranus – originality and extraordinary experiences

Neptune – creativity, imagination and spirituality

Pluto – transformation, passion and power


A little note here – each planet may have a different strength in the individual horoscope and therefore different importance/impact.

You also need to know that the planets may have a positive or negative impact depending on numerous factors, including the evolutionary level of the person and the way he uses his horoscope.



The aspects represent the different connection between the planets. Each two planets may or may not be connected with an aspect.

If there is an aspect, we can assume that the planets are affecting each other. The type of the impact is defined by the nature of the aspect.

Here are the aspects I use with a basic description of their influence:

Conjunction – mixture of the energies (might be positive or challenging)

Semi-sextile – positive (minor)

Semi-quintile – positive (creative)

Nonagon – challenging (karmic)

Semi-square – challenging (minor)

Septile – challenging (karmic)

Sextile – positive (major)

Quintile – positive (creative)

Binonagon – challenging (karmic)

Square – challenging (major)

Sentagon – challenging (karmic)

Quintile and a half – positive (creative)

Trine – positive (major)

Square and a half – challenging (minor)

Biquintile – positive (creative)

Quincunx – changeable (challenging at first and more positive later)

Opposition – challenging (major)



The houses represent the most practical layer – concrete life areas. And each of the houses is related to a few life areas.

Here are the basics:

1st house – everything the person does and initiates; appearance

2nd house – resources and money

3rd house – communication, learning, traveling

4th house – family, home, properties

5th house – creativity, love, kids

6th house – health, work, daily life

7th house – relationships and partnerships

8th house – mutual resources, crises, transformations

9th house – beliefs, worldview, high education

10th house – career, social status

11th house – ideals, communities

12th house – isolation, spirituality


 As you can see astrology offers many different layers which we can explore in order to understand the person and his life. But this may really take time before you can make this thorough analysis.

That’s why I wanted to share with a fast and simple way in which you can start applying astrology immediately.

I have a free webinar which will teach you exactly how to do that.

Click the link below to watch it now:

How to Create a Psychological Profile with Astrology

Read about Astrology readings too.

MarStars Academy

Astrology space for YOU.
Find all the Astrology you need in one place.

Astrology Tutorials

Page [tcb_pagination_current_page] of [tcb_pagination_total_pages]

Podcast Episodes